Tuesday Twoday

I’m emerging from the depths of double rehearsals to fill you in on all the latest goings on here on Planet Arlene! Rushing between technical rehearsals for 27 to getting started on The Universe doesn’t leave a lot of time… and yet somehow I’ve managed to fit all this in…

I had the most wonderful time at the press night for Groundhog Day at the Old Vic. I loved, loved the show, and loved even more seeing my dearest Orfeh – Broadway legend and original Annette in Saturday Night Fever there, and her phenomenally talented husband Andy Karl who is starring at Phil Connors. A supremely talented cast and incredible set, I hope the show gets the transfer it so richly deserves. Orfeh also took the time to pop in to 27 rehearsals, much to the delight of the cast! IMG_4490
I had a great time at the London Autumn Season Event, and spent most of the evening talking all things dance with the divine Tamara Rojo.

It certainly is theatre theatre theatre at the moment as I also popped in to see Motown, and took along a very unique and brave friend Tonia who I was thrilled to spend the evening with.

I also took a trip down the road to watch the incredible new production of Jesus Christ Superstar at Regents Park open air theatre, that literally blew my mind. Declan Bennett was the most heartbreakingly beautiful Jesus, I have never seen the role played so exquisitely, and his rendition of Gethsemane brought me to tears. Bravo to all involved, it was a stunning evening. Bumping into the gorgeous Gerard Butler wasn’t too bad either!

I managed to make it over to ITV to catch up with the gorgeous Loose Women and my darling Ben Shepherd and Kate Garraway to talk all things 27. Make sure you get booking as it’s a limited run and it’s selling out fast! http://www.thecockpit.org.uk/show/27 I was also lucky enough while I was there to meet the incredible Nicola Adams, what a legend!

I was back to watch the beautiful piece I created for Candoco with the incredible  Joel and Laura “You and I Know”, on the Southbank, in the sunshine with our dear friends Flea and John Keeble of Spandau Ballet fame, and the supremely talented Matt Wills, co writer of 27, who were all as moved to tears as I am every time I watch it. If you haven’t already make sure you check for dates as it really is not to be missed.
Finally, I managed to find time to get to my favourite, the Primrose Hill market and stock up on all things delicious for the week ahead! Romeo was pretty pleased with all the delicious fresh ham, and tried several times to make off with the packet…

Make sure you check out my twitter and Instagram for more pics and updates on the go, and I’ll be back with all the gossip from the entire Universe soon!

Love Arlene x

Leave a Reply

