Starlight over the Southbank

What a supremely theatrical couple of weeks its been, from Starlight to the Southbank, I have been lucky enough so be surrounded by so much talent, inspiration and love for our theatre community, it makes me so proud to be a part of it.

Working with the new cast for the…28th year of Starlight Express in Germany was such a joy, and I can’t wait to be able to share with you the new exciting new changes we’re making to the show for the incredible 30th birthday year coming up!

I was so honoured to attend the Southbank Awards alongside some of the industry’s finest, including sone of my dearest friends Debbie Moore, Gillian Lynne and Edward Watson. There’s even a sneaky picture of me from the awards a couple of years ago, can you spot it? I have to say however, despite catching up on all the usual gossip, I found myself completely engaged with the enigmatic Eddie Izzard, who’s knowledge and passion for remaining in the EU is simply astounding, and I only hope that his campaign can inspire as many as possible to vote for our future and stay stronger united.

 

I had such a beautiful evening at the Royal Albert Hall with my two girls to watch the English National Ballet’s production of Swan Lake in the round, with 60 swans, and the most heartbreakingly beautiful Odette/Odile I have ever seen. It was wonderful to catch up with one of my oldest friends Tracey Ullman, new friend Matthew Morrison, and new dance crush Cesar Corrales, who sadly wasn’t performing that night due to injury, and that I hope will be back on his feet asap so I can watch whatever he is doing next!

attends Swan Lake at The Royal Albert Hall on June 2, 2016 in London, England.

I’ll be posting a special tribute this week to Molly Molly, my mentor and lifelong friend who tragically passed away this week, and I’d like to thank everyone for all your kind and heartfelt messages I’ve received this past few days, they mean more than you know.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend

Much love, Arlene x

 

Leave a Reply

