I’m Still Standing… Just…

Oh my goodness, I am writing this from my sick bed! Yes despite a jab, and several strict warnings from the family to take it easy post op… I am suffering with the worst flu. Poor me… I’ll tell you what though, I’ve had a great time the past couple of weeks so it was certainly worth it!

I had a fabulous time dancing along the blue carpet at the opening night of Amaluna, the new Cirque du Soleil spectacular at the Royal Albert Hall. Surrounded by friends and family, the annual Cirque outing is always such a perfect start to the year, and a great opportunity to catch up with everyone after the Christmas and New Year period, while watching some of the most breathtaking and beautiful acts in the world.

I had a wonderful time at the National Dance Awards, talking, living and breathing all things dance alongside some of my favourite performers in the industry – or the world for that matter, and got to chat up close and personal with my current new obsession Cesar Corrales from the ENB, who literally blew me away with his performance as Ali in Le Corsaire earlier in the year. As well it always being a treat to chat to ENB’s artistic director and friend Tamara Rojo, who also was breathtaking to watch in the production. I love being a part of the future of dance, and being surrounded by such talent is always so inspiring.

Speaking of dance, I’ve been having such fun creating a new piece for Candoco, a disabled and non disabled contemporary dance company, that I can’t wait for you all to see!

I’ve also been knee deep in rehearsals (get it!) for Jackie, my new musical, which has certainly been keeping me busy, and while my head is buzzing with inspiration, my body seems to be buzzing a bit less quickly so am taking a couple of days to rest up, but believe me it’s the body only! If only my brain would like to take a break, but when I get an idea for something as exciting the ideas just keep coming! http://jackiethemusical.com

I hope you are all staying happy and healthy, meanwhile I’m here, blogging from my bed, and also learning to master the wonders of Instagram so make sure to have a look on @arlenephillipsofficial for some fun posts!

I’ll be back fighting fit with more hot gossip for you soon…

Love Arlene x

 

 

Leave a Reply

