The Queen of All Things Wonderful

Hello!

First off as promised, my amazing night of Queen! I have been very lucky in my time to watch some incredible shows, all over the world, and I have to say this would undoubtably be in my top 10. With the staggeringly brilliant Adam Lambert at the helm, and Brian and Roger, who’s genius only seems to multiply, the show was a spectacular performance I was utterly blown away by. With Queen’s iconic music, Adam’s voice brought a whole new dimension to it, and was so self assured in who he was not being a Freddie “tribute” act, and yet at times was so like Freddie it brought shivers down my spine. There were tears, memories, laughter and of course such loud singing along from all of us no one could so much as make a sound the following morning. A night I will remember forever.

FullSizeRender-8 Queen 1 FullSizeRender-7 FullSizeRender-6 FullSizeRender-5 Queen 3 Queen2 Queen 4

I had a hilarious morning filming for the upcoming Comic Relief Danceathon I’m taking part in. Dancing away alongside Kimberly Wyatt, Rufus Hound, Sara Cox, Ian Waite and Gemma Cairney to name a few! See who else you can spot in the pics, they may well be wearing a red nose disguise… I’m really looking forward to the main event, I’m definitely inclined to join in the musical theatre slot taught by one of my loyal ex students, David Olton. I hope he throws in my oldie but goodie stuff! Also, check out the picture Alana made of me completely oblivious to the fact I’m standing in a hilarious array of dance positions during my interview!

AP danceathon copy FullSizeRender-4 FullSizeRender-1 FullSizeRender-2 FullSizeRender-3

I was thrilled to be asked to present this year’s National Dance Awards, and had a wonderful time doing so. Dance is my life and my passion, so it’s wonderful to be able to give recognition to those who share that with me. I also, got to catch up with Darcy and Kenny Tharp, and the wonderful Xander Parish.

AP & Xander Parish Ap Kenny Tharp & Darcy

I’ve also seen some really interesting theatre, with Gecko at the Linbury, and Othello at the Lyric. Both very different, physical and innovative productions. http://www.geckotheatre.com/project/missing/?project=183&section=introduction However, Gecko was outstanding in every aspect of theatre, and terrifying that one could go from laughter to tears in such a short space of time. I can’t wait to see The Missing at BAC Arts Centre in February.

IMG_5650

I managed to fit in some family time, taking my girls out for a day of lunch and shopping. We did, Harrods, Harvey Nics, Selfridges, and a divine lunch at Zuma. Despite the fact we came home empty handed, it was such a wonderful day, and just being able to be a mum is something i cherish more than anything.
FullSizeRender
As always, I hope you’ve enjoyed all my pics and hearing about my crazy life, and I’ll be back next week with gossip from the press night on Di, Viv and Rose!

Love,
Arlene x

One comment on “The Queen of All Things Wonderful

  1. writerann says:

    Hi Arlene

    I too have seen the Queen concert and like you was blown away by the sheer talent. Fantastic that Adam Lambert has bought back this iconic band to its full capacity.

Leave a Reply

