Last Seen Dancing…

I’m sure you can guess from the fact that my last blog was a good couple of weeks ago, I have been rushed of my dancing feet! Between the usual rounds of rehearsals for Monty Python and Brazouka, I have been absorbing myself in the most highbrow of the arts, with Opera at the Colosseum and The Royal Ballet at the Opera House. This alongside three other amazing theatrical events, I was almost danced out, almost…

I’ll start with the very tearful last night at We Will Rock You, that I can hardly bear to say has rocked Tottenham Court Road for the last time. (I can also hardly bear to say that this was three whole weeks ago, where has the time gone?!) It was such a spectacular evening, finishing with an extra surprise performance at the end of the show from Brian, Roger and the company that left us all in tears. Watching all the love and hard work we had as group put into that show was truly moving, and I’d like to take this opportunity to once again thank everybody there for making it the show it was. It’s lucky for America We Will Rock You is still rocking around the world and can catch the show in the following cities… http://www.wewillrockyou.com/

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

From a closing to an opening, this time of Flashmob at the Peacock theatre, which was such a unique new dance show starring ‪@KeviClifton‪@Karen_Hauer ‪@FlawlessUK ‪@TommyFranzen ‪@AlleviateDance‪@BrosenaDance. I had a wonderful chat with Tommy Franzen who was one of my diva dancers on So You Think You Can Dance, and I am so proud to see him out there working those moves! It was also great to catch up with business superwoman Deborah Meaden, who loves to pick my brains about dance  as much as I do hers about business! In the continued spirit of dance my next outing was to see In the Heights at the Southwark Playhouse. This was truly an incredible piece of dance theatre, and the clever choreography and fierceness of the dancers completely blew me away.

Image

Image

The first of my very cultured evening was to the first night of Terry Gilliam’s opera, Berlioz’s Benvenuto Cellini at the London Coliseum. Not being a regular on the opera scene, it was such an incredible experience, and Terry’s witty direction combined with the most heartbreakingly beautiful voices made it a evening to truly remember.

Image

The second was my trip to the Royal Opera House to watch dance god and dear friend Edward Watson, star of the Royal Ballet in a piece called Connectome by Alastair Marriott. With a stunning design by Es Devlin, it was a raw and emotional piece, and as always, Ed’s passion and intensity in his movement brought me to tears. Plus, seeing the sensational Natalia Osipova dance like a goddess was the icing on the very non fattening ballet cake. As part of a three act ballet, we had the incredible opportunity to watch the first act piece, The Dream from in the wings at the side of the stage! Steven McRae was nothing short of sublime, and standing there in the midst of it all was like a dream in itself. We finished with dinner and dance gossip at one of my favourite restaurants Balthazar in Covent Garden, and I think that evening I truly floated into my bed, with dreams of the ballet dancing through my mind.

With dance being a running theme in my life as ever, I attended a fabulous party for Pineapple studios, which turned 35 this year! Congratulations to my darling Debbie Moore for making it the number one dance studio in London today.

Image

I had a great time with Pamela Stephenson on ITV’s Weekend with Aled Jones, talking about our upcoming show Brazouka! http://brazouka.info/index.html and I definitely think the highlight was meeting Jason Mraz, who both myself and my daughters are huge fans of, and when he sat down with his guitar and just started to sing my eyes welled up with just how beautiful and soulful his voice is. It was truly a very special moment, and apart from the sounds of his guitar, you could have heard a pin drop in the studio, everyone was transfixed.

ImageImageImage

So here we are, the start of my technical rehearsals for Monty Python, and I know it’s going to be one hell of a week… Hopefully the next thing I will be writing to you is all about our fabulous opening night… So wish me luck, and I’ll see you on the other side!

ImageImageImage

Much love till then…

Arlene x

Leave a Reply

