Arlene’s International Wonderblog

It’s been a real West End whirlwind this past couple of weeks, with show after show in country after country. My week in Gozo with the company of Brazouka was just as exhilarating as exhausting. Starting our days with yoga at 6am, followed by breakfast at 7, then a full day of dancing, lunch, more dancing, dinner, and of course more dancing! I have to say the energy and passion of the dancers is just so infectious, and no matter how tired I was, their spirit kept me going through what could have a been a week to end all others. Gozo is such a beautiful place, and dancing on the rooftop of our incredible accommodation looking out over the view was just breathtaking. Despite the sun the beating down, the wind was fierce up there and I was wrapped up to the nines, so clearly no tan for me! It still wasn’t enough however to keep from dipping my toes into the beautiful heated pool and taking a break to just enjoy my surroundings, hearing the wonderful chatter of Portuguese and soft samba sounds around me. As always though, nothing beats returning to my family and I was happy to return home to head off again to Germany. Oh, wait…

So next it was Starlight Express, and my time to work with the new company who were rehearsing to open the show later that week. It’s always so exciting getting to shape and inspire a new generation of the Starlight Family, seeing what they can bring to their characters, and of course overall to the show itself. With brand new race music, some new choreography, and new tricks and turns from our amazing stunt skaters, the show is looking better than ever. As always, it really is something to behold so if you haven’t already, get yourself out there for a showstopping experience you’ll never forget!

I managed to take a break to celebrate my birthday, although just the evening mind as I spent the day with all the gang from Carnation footcare at the divine Bluebird restaurant in Chelsea. It’s crazy how being on my feet all day dancing, rehearsing, running between meetings can really take it’s toll, but thanks to my amazing new Pediroller, my aches are a thing of the past. Coupled with the amazing gel pads and soothing foot cream my feet are finally getting the love they deserve! I also got to have some delicious birthday cake, and picked up a pair of beautiful silk trousers from the fabulous boutique downstairs, so a real birthday bonus! New trousers on, I made my way with the family to my birthday dinner destination, Jason Atherton’s Berners Tavern at the London Edition Hotel. If the menu wasn’t enough to drool over, the decor was simply stunning. The food was just perfection, as was the company! The beautiful flowers and gifts I received, the cards and messages from friends old and new, it was all just perfect and I couldn’t have wished for more to make it a truly wonderful day. 

So here I am, after my first week at rehearsals for Monty Python, and all I can say is let the madness begin…
Make sure you check in next week to hear all about the last night at We Will Rock You, I still can’t believe it. 

So goodbye everybody, I’ve got to go…
Love Arlene x

Leave a Reply

