Tea, Tea, and More Tea

They say no rest for the wicked, and that’s exactly what I must be as since arriving back from the crazy week that was Las Vegas, I have barely stopped. As always I’ve been busy with the weird and wonderful workings of a life in theatre, and here’s what I’ve been up to…

 
I had a wonderful night out at the opening of The A-Z of Mrs P (not self titled haha!) and I thought it was fantastic, particularly my darling Frances Ruffelle who gave as always a truly outstanding performance. The party was a very gossipy affair, and I spent a lot of time talking to the now Dame Gillian Lynne, who I am so proud to congratulate! I also had a catch up with singer Eliza Doolittle, Frances’ daughter, who was telling me all about what’s she’s got coming up, and of course it’s all very hush hush but very exciting!  
Image
 
I had a great time filming at the one and only We Will Rock You alongside the gorgeous Kian Egan for a piece on This Morning, he really is a charmer that one! 
 Image
Did you catch me in the new Little Mix video for Sport Relief? I can finally reveal that’s what I was up to all those weeks ago when I was sneaking around with Louis Smith and Kevin Adams! It was such a fun day, and the girls were not only gorgeous but so lovely to chat to as well. I want to wish the girls the best of luck with the single, and hope it raises as much money as possible for the amazing work that Sport Relief are doing.Check it out here, and don’t forget to donate!  http://bit.ly/MQKO5y 
Image
 
I was so proud to be invited to the International Womens Day conference this year. Lead by Esther McVey, there were many inspirational women spoke that about everything that can be achieved, from those coming from the worst of backgrounds, to others such as Gloria Hunniford who suffered the devastating loss of her daughter. There was a woman heading up a bank in what’s perceived to be a “man’s” world, Barabra Windsor and myself doing for older women, and of course my darling Debbie Moore, founder of Pineapple and the first woman on the stock exchange! By staying strong and supporting those around us, I believe women really can have it all. 
Image
Image
 
Did you see the campaign The Sun has been running? Check ‘em Tuesday, targeted at women to check for breast cancer, it really is essential, so get checking! 
Image
 
I’ve been greedily eating afternoon tea at not one but two fabulous locations,  namely the W Hotel and Fortnum and Mason. The first was just a treat from me and my girls, and what a tea it was.The Rock Tea at the W was a divine assortment of rock and roll themed cakes and pastries, from Purple Haze, Cherry Bomb and Dark Side of the Moon to name a few delights! The afternoon tea at Fortum and Mason in Piccadilly was with two winners from a competition I ran with Save the Children, and it was classically British and brilliant. I had such a wonderful time chatting away over scones with cream and jam, sipping tea and eating cucumber sandwiches I felt like The Queen! So much for my ever present diet…
Image
 
Finally, I’d like to ask for your help once again. I’m signing up for the Live Below the Line challenge to raise money for Malaria No More. I’ve done it the past two years running, and quite honestly the thought of living on nothing but porridge and beans again makes me want to turn tail, but I believe it’s so important to do what we can to help. Keep an eye on my twitter for how to get involved!
 
So this coming week I will be buried in auditions for Monty Python, and I’m sure I’ll have plenty of gossip to share about it all next time, as well as a couple of brand new theatre reviews, so don’t miss it! 
 
Much love
Arlene x 

Leave a Reply

