Part Two, The Reviews

Hello again,

So I’m back with my reviews on the wild and wonderful shows I got to see last week in the one and only Las Vegas!

Starting with One, the Michael Jackson show from Cirque du Soleil at Mandalay Bay. We entered into the theatre that was surrounded with images on giant screens of newspaper headlines from all the tabloids about Michael, and a bunch of “paparazzi” running around the auditorium taking pictures of the audience with these huge flashbulb cameras as they arrived. As with so many of the Cirque shows, I love that you feel involved from the minute you walk in to the rapturous applause as you are leaving. 
The show itself was very interesting. I felt that the opening number was so immense, it was almost too hard to focus on as there was so much going on, each bit as brilliant as the other and I just didn’t know were to look, fearing I would miss something spectacular. Once this was over however, the journey of four kids through the world of Michael’s music began, and I was able to sit back and relax, and enjoy the brilliance before me. From spectacular acrobatics, iconic choreography, mind blowing effects and music that went through you the show was nothing short of incredible. I loved the pole dancer who performed to Dirty Diana, wow that girl had thighs of steel! Also the slack wire and the trampoline acts just mesmerising, but what really blew me away was the dancers performing alongside an image of Michael, that was one of the most brilliant things I have seen in a long while. Overall I’d go with an 8 out of 10, as they lost points for the crazy opening, and a couple of the acts were a little too long for my liking. Still, an absolute must see for all Cirque and MJ fans alike. 

Next up, Britney Spears Piece of Me at Planet Hollywood. A 5000 strong crowd screaming for Britney, who bless her looked a bit like she’d woken up on stage and didn’t really know what was going on. I’m sorry I can’t write a better review for this one, I might have been able to were the audience not encouraged to stand up the entire show and take as many pictures as they liked, so I therefore found myself watching through the camera phone of the man stood up in front of me… However! The sets were imaginative, the music her greatest hits, and despite it not being the most amazing show I have ever seen, getting to see Britney live in Las Vegas I know is a once in a lifetime experience and was thoroughly enjoyed by all. (especially Alana who was up and singing along like a true Britney fan!) Piece of Me gets a 7 out of 10, as despite not being able to see, and it all being a bit haphazard, it was still a fantastic evening. 

ImageImageImageImage

Again another slightly disappointing review next for Nocturn at Rose Rabbit Lie at the Cosmopolitan. For what had been described to me as the new hot show to see, it was a rather bland dinner theatre cabaret that was a little disappointing.  Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t the sexy, jaw dropping excitement I had been led to believe I was going to see. A couple of close up circus acts, a card trick or two and some rather bawdy hosts for me does not the experience make. We didn’t eat, and I have to say the divine looking food floating past me might have made it all the more enjoyable. All in all, a six out of ten from me. 

Later that evening we hotfooted it over to the MGM Grand to see Cirque du Soleil’s KA, only the most expensive show in the world… Designed my my dear friend, the late Mark Fisher, from the minute you walked in to the epic theatre, it really was like entering another world. Surrounded by towers and facing one of the largest stages I have ever seen, KA was a heart stopping show from start to finish. It was also the first show from Cirque I have seen that had a really emotional story, all about love, family, war and please, and it took you on a magical journey throughout land, sea, sun, sand, snow and starlight. With people flying through air, ninjas spinning, tricks that made me hold my breath till I realised I was nearly blue in the face – it was non stop. Another absolute must see, getting a 9 out of 10 from me, losing one point for the fact it did seem rather long, although this might have been due to my extreme jetlag!

Last but not least Le Reve, The Dream at the Wynn hotel. This I had been dying to see, having taken a backstage tour with Louanne earlier in the week. Standing up at the top of the theatre, 85ft in the air looking down to where the cast jump from into the water below was simply terrifying! With people swimming through the water one minute, dancing on it the next, and then dropping down from the ceiling into the depths below, I was mesmerised from start to finish. The story of a young girls dream, designed by the visionary Franco Dragone, full of magic and beauty, giants flowers opened up, trees arose from the water, and fire raged around us. The only thing I was slightly unsure of was the ballroom dancing, not that it wasn’t brilliantly done – I just wasn’t sure quite where it fitted in. Again, Le Reve also gets 9 out of 10, losing the point for the Ballroom and Latin, but still a mind blowing 90 minutes of brilliance. 

Image

Finally, I know this isn’t Vegas – but I had to catch you up on my review of the wonderful production of Drunk that I got to see just before I went away. Devised and choreographed by the immensely talented Drew McOnie, his company performed brilliantly stylish choreography, strutted sexy costumes and with such a clever concept I was truly excited from start to finish. Have first judged Drew on the second series of So You Think You Can Dance a few years ago, I knew he was one to watch, and I am so proud to see just how far he has come. A perfect ten! 
Image

So make sure you look out for my third and final part of the Vegas Review, The Food… 

Leave a Reply

