Arlene’s Fabulous Theatre Review Blog

Hello all,

I can’t believe it is already nearing the end of January. Is this year going to fly past as quickly as last? It’s already been as insanely busy month, and of course I don’t want to keep boring you with endless blogging about my Monty Python meetings, so I though I’d make this weeks post a mini theatre review! It’s been a wonderful week of show watching, gathering inspiration and generally just appreciating the talent in the industry I am always so grateful to be a part of.

Starting off with American Psycho at the Almeida, which I was lucky enough to score tickets to, they really are like gold dust, and worth every penny and string pulled! Matt Smith was utterly sensational, it really is a musical of the future, beautifully staged by Lynne Page with exciting new music and outstanding performances. As well as being of course gripping in it’s subject matter, the humour and intelligence Matt Smith delivered to the character was simply stunning. It must be transferring to the West End, so make sure you keep an eye out for when and where, and get there while you still can!

Next up is Candide at the Chocolate Factory, this was another production that was utterly sensational on every level. My darling Scarlett Strallen was a true revelation, having always known she could dance like a diva, but hearing her hit those high notes proved she could sing like one as well! Not forgetting of course her phenomenal acting and brilliant comedic timing, she is in my eyes the true meaning of the term “triple threat”, and nothing less than a shining star. Again it’s not a long run, so again get there while you can.

Moving onto The Light Princess at the National Theatre, starring the divine Rosalie Craig, written by pop diva Tori Amos, and directed by theatrical superstar Marianne Elliot.  Having heard so much about this, it was every bit as fascinating as expected, and I was transfixed by the spectacular movement. Surprisingly, the music was much more “Musical Theatre” style than I had expected, and held the piece together brilliantly. As with all the other shows in my mini review this is also a limited run, so again a must see quick! It was also a real treat to bump into the gorgeous now Hollywood hunk Luke Evans, whom I know from his early musical theatre days. I always said he was one to watch…

Image

Finally Fuerzabruta at the Roundhouse, of which I was invited to the opening night of, alongside the likes of fashion goddess herself Kate Moss, whom I was standing next to underneath a giant mass of swirling water and performers. It was like being at a giant rave, and it was fabulous to see Sadie Frost swimming away above me taking part in the big adventure of spectacular water moments going on above our heads. The whole place was filled with great musicians and dancers weaving their way through us in the crowds, looking high and low at the spectacle around us. An exhilarating, exciting experience that again is not to be missed!

Image

I hope you’ve enjoyed this week’s offering, I know I certainly have!

Much love
Arlene x

One comment on “Arlene’s Fabulous Theatre Review Blog

  1. Paul says:

    you don’t look 69 years old…Congrats on that, your CBE and your blog!

Leave a Reply

