Happy New Year!

Hello again,

I would like to start by saying that I can’t believe we’re a week into January already! Christmas and New Year flew past in a wonderful whirl of massive overeating and noisy parties with friends and family alike.  I’m also amazed to say how calm Christmas was this year, its usually a hectic drama of a week, but it floated along with one happy family member after another coming and going. We spent it up in beautiful Herefordshire, with plenty of wind and rain, log fires burning to keep us warm and a shining tree to pile the presents under. We open our presents on Christmas eve, and this year was no exception I was spoilt rotten. I awoke the next morning to a flurry of activity in the kitchen. Fast forward a few hours and after what can only be described as Christmas lunch from heaven, perfectly prepared by my partner (everyone would be stuck with salad if it was left to me!) we all dutifully made our way to the living room for the post stuffing sleep. Sadly that evening my Abi had to return to London as she had work the following day at Selfridges in the crazy Boxing Day sales, and I’m not ashamed to admit I did have a little cry as she left!  We sort of ended up swapping one family member for another as Alana’s boyfriend arrived on Boxing Day to fill the gap! There was also a lot of cat swapping going on as well… Abi had brought her cat Romeo, and Alana had brought her kitten Frankie, which thoroughly did not please Romeo. When Abi went back to London, she took Romeo and Alana’s partner arrived with their other cat Pickles! Not forgetting our dog Polly in all of this, it was animal madness! It was truly a perfect end to the year, and now we’re in 2014, and who knows what it will bring. I have some incredibly exciting projects to look forward to, as as far as resolutions go? Of course I’m tightening my resolve to stick to my diet, I want to continue to teach my girls to be caring and generous, to treat others as you would be treated, and to always look on the bright side of life…

Happy New Year!
Love Arlene x

PS.. Here’s a couple of Christmas piccys, enjoy! X

Image

One of my beautiful Aspinal of London tree decorations

ImageFee

Feet up watching the Royal Ballet’s Don Quixote

Image

Christmas morning view from the kitchen window

Image

The gingerbread house my girls made

Image

The tree!

Leave a Reply

