Part 2: The Party

I can’t even begin to work out how many hours of planning this party took, but let me tell you, every second of them was worth it!  From the moment we walked in, and guests started to arrive, up to the last person to leave – way past the cut off point I might add – it was an absolute success.

The Birthday celebrations had begun earlier in the day on my return from filming that morning on The Wright Stuff. I arrived home to find all my presents on the table, and a lunch of fresh bagels with smoked salmon, ham, turkey and cream cheese all beautifully laid out as a surprise. My gifts were so thoughtful and perfect, and I could hardly believe how lucky I felt opening one after the other, surrounded by my family. Unbeknownst to me, for the past few months my assistant Tully had been making a DVD of video messages sent in from friends all over the world, and I sat and watched it in tears as message after message played in front of me. Coco had also as a surprise made a book of all the birthday letters sent to me, alongside pictures from years ago I had never seen, and brought back so many wonderful memories. With emotions already running high, all the girls were buzzing around the house, in and out of Alana‘s magic makeup chair, until it was finally my turn. With my hair pulled back in a simple ponytail, and just some eyeliner and lipgloss, I wanted to go for something understated that said I’m 70 and I look fabulous! I wore a black vintage jumpsuit with a Vivienne Westwood broach, Louboutins and an Aspinal handbag, the look was complete, and I was off to party!
With 200 people there to celebrate with me at the Bloomsbury Ballroom, the night flew past as I greeted all my dearest friends and family, dotting around from one person to the next, only stopping to make a short speech to thank everyone for coming, and to say how special they were to me.  There was champagne, canapes and cupcakes, all of which was heartily devoured, and I could hardly believe it as the clock struck 11, an hour past my intended home time, and I quickly flew home before it reached midnight, and my sensational 70th Cinderella moment vanished in a puff of smoke.
I hope you enjoy the following pictures, and of course there are too many names to mention, but thank you to all the came, and especially to my darling family that worked so hard to make the night of my dreams possible
Love A x

 
Image
 With Russell Grant
Image
With Brendan and Zoe Cole
Image
 With Andrew and Madeleine Lloyd Webber
Image
With my gorgeous girls Alana and Abi

Leave a Reply

