Wearing Spanx to the Brazilian Tea Party (with some Mormons)


Hello again,

 
I hope you’re all enjoying the seasonal easter, um, snow?  It’s clearly a great excuse to spend the weekend wrapped up eating chocolate!

 
Did you enjoy last week’s blog? I loved the pictures from the very special tea for the very special Shooting Star Children’s Hospice, Chase. 
 
Its been yet another crazy week of weird and wonderful events I can’t wait to share with you, but first of all… Who caught the LAST EVER One Show from the iconic BBC Television Centre at White City , that featured my recreation of the record breaking tap dance to 42nd St, originally performed by Roy Castle back in the 70’s  http://bbc.in/14nG4L4 Despite the fact that it was utterly freezing and pouring it down, we had 1200 feet enthusiastically tapping away! 


It was by complete coincidence a double whammy of 42nd St for me this week as I took part in the 42nd St Gala at the London Palladium, in honour of Caron Keating and her foundation. Here’s a clip of the number I was in, Dames, where I was partnered with the divine Matt Evers from Dancing on Ice.  http://bit.ly/10OCwP3

Wednesday I attended a fabulous event hosted by Save the Children, which was A Night of Funk & Soul at the Roundhouse in Chalk Farm.  The performances were fantastic, and as for the guests –  I met Tim Burton!  He is such a hero of mine, and I found myself chatting away for what seemed like a lifetime, enthusing over our shared love of all things “different”.

Thursday was another epic event, in the opening night of the Book of Mormon.  The “opening of the year” so far , it truly is one of the most phenomenal things I have ever seen. And as for the the lead role, Gavin Creel is a revelation, and someone that everyone has to see perform at least once in their life!  The party afterwards was at the Natural History Museum, where I ate my way through several lobster rolls and mini burgers, as well as the naughty maple glazed doughnuts, which are so brilliantly referenced in the show.  I’m pretty sure tickets are like gold dust, but I can’t express the enough how much this show  has to be seen… 

 
While I was partying away amongst the dinosaurs, Abi and Angus went off to see the Eels in concert, and reported back on also what a fantastic night they’d had, so much fun was had by all!

Finally, Friday was here, and it was time for the Brazil showcase I’d been working towards over the past week. The performers were backstage being made up by Alana, I was out front alongside my “co-conspirator” on the piece Pamela Stephenson meeting and greeting our specially invited audience, and you could virtually see the butterflies in our stomachs. It was an intense, emotional, exciting and magical week that was all leading up to this point, and I am beyond thrilled to say it was a total success.  My special thanks to Harley, Ashley, Bras, Pamela and all my beautiful dancers and musicians, if you’re reading this – we did it! So what’s next? Well you’ll just have to watch this space…

Saturday brought another event, this time out at Silverstone races! “Dancing with Sky Stars” was a Strictlyesque competition for a wonderful charity that I was thrilled to take part in, and judge newsreaders and reporters alongside the very smart Brendan Cole and the hysterically funny Dan Lobb. I have to say the Sky Stars worked really hard and were a revelation in dance. 

 

It was another busy but fun day on Sunday, chatting to Clare Balding for Good Morning Sunday on BBC Radio 2. I loved chatting away to Clare, and you’ve got three days left to catch it on IPlayer here  http://bbc.in/108rHoJ  I also managed to catch up with my dear and longtime friend Nigel Lithgoe, where it wasn’t all just giggles and gossip… Watch. This. Space. 

As Monday and the next installment of craziness rolled around, it started with an appearance on Alan Titchmarsh, who as I’m sure you know by now as I always say, is a dream to chat with.  http://itv.co/XDnpDU  

Afterwards I attended a special tea for Save the Children, with some of the kids who have been helped by the charity, and some who won a five hour dance marathon to be there! We shared a beautiful cream tea at the Royal Garden Hotel, and talked dance dance dance, all my favourite things in one go!
 
Image

Tuesday was filled from top to bottom, starting with a long overdue catch up with Coco, who’d been away for a few days, and yes I admit it, I can’t manage without her!! I had a secret meeting about the Olivier awards, before heading over to Edencancan Towers, and the fabulous Spanx event hosted by my darling Nick Ede. I left stacked with Power Pants galore and stuffed with Red Velvet Cupcakes and Champagne! Next stop was the Mayfair Hotel for more treats at the launch of the very special Chocolate Tea Party initiative.  Woman’s Own have come up with the wonderful idea in conjunction with the Sick Childrens Trust, a charity that provides housing for families who need to be close to their children in hospital.  It helps take out the often several hours commute and other strains on the family going through something like that can bring.  You can find details of how to get involved below. I sipped on a chocolate martini, and caught up with the lovely Helen Fospero, and we listened to the stunning voice of Faryl Smith, who melted my heart with her rendition of Tonight, from my favourite musical West Side Story.  http://www.womansown.co.uk/celebrity-2/celebrity-gossip/womans-own-launches-the-big-chocolate-tea-party/

 
Image

Yesterday I had a gorgeous breakfast with my longtime friend CJ at The little house Mayfair. I hadn’t been before, but I will most certainly be going again! I spent the rest of the day continuing my Coco Catch Up, before it was time to head off to Baker St to launch a new range of anti ageing products from Nivea, where I was talking about what it feels like to be an older woman in the media.  In truth, it’s hard, and you can be accused of anything from looking too old, to being laughed at for trying to look to young. I say look how you want to, look after your skin, and you’ll look happy no matter what. 

Finally, a big ask, but please please sponsor me (http://bit.ly/APLBTL) or my darling daughter Abi (http://bit.ly/16Xwnmp)  or Team Arlene (http://bit.ly/ZXHjfF) in our challenge to live on just £1 a day for a week, that’s just 33p a meal so please donate even if you can only give £1 every penny will go to Malaria No More UK an innovative charity working tirelessly to end suffering and deaths from malaria. 

So all i have now is to wish you all a Happy Easter!  Tweet me your plans, and I’ll tell you all about mine next week.

 
Until then
Arlene x
 
 
 
 

5 comments on “Wearing Spanx to the Brazilian Tea Party (with some Mormons)

  1. Janet Gigg says:

    Hi Arlene
    You always look great, and I wondered if you took any supplements or vitamins etc
    Regards
    Janet

  2. toore.org says:

    Hi there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

  3. Skeleton says:

    It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before finish I am reading this great post to increase my experience.

Leave a Reply

