Celebrating CBE

I can’t believe this is my last blog of the year! It’s cliche’d I know, but it really does feel like yesterday I was writing my new year’s resolutions for January 2012… and we won’t say any more about how many I’ve kept…  

So I’ve been back in London for a week now, and had the most wonderful Christmas. Everything from the tree, the decorations, the incredible lunch, my beautiful presents, has all just been perfect. Of course the best thing about being home has been my family, who I have missed more than words can say.  

Speaking of missing things, I do have to admit there are a couple of things I am missing about Toronto, most notably, the Marble Slab Ice Cream Parlour… Plus the audience reaction to the show has been so overwhelming, if I could hear clapping and cheers like that on a daily basis I wouldn’t have a care in the world. Of course I’m also missing my ‘gang’ I spent so long working with, so we’re all having a big knees up at my house in the new year!

Looking back over my year, it’s been a complete whirlwind of ups and downs, and yet what a way to end it, with being awarded a CBE in the Queen’s New Years Honours. I can hardly begin to express my excitement, or my immense gratitude for all your wonderful messages of congratulations, it really has meant so much to me. I did an interview on Saturday morning at Sky News about it, where I bumped into gorgeous celebrity trainer and longtime friend Kevin Adams, who has promised to kick my butt into shape this year so I’ll be looking fabulous for my trip to the palace! Actually, thank goodness no more Marble Slab…  

Image

 

I mentioned in my last blog about my upcoming Twitter Tip of the Day, which starts tomorrow! Positive advice, tips, things to do, see, feel, the list goes on! I don’t want another year to slip by and think I could have made more of a difference, so if you do follow up on any of my tips, please do let me know. I love hearing from you all, and if there’s any tweet tips you have for me send them my way @arlenephillips. So many wonderful things have happened this year, but as with all years, also so much tragedy, and although it’s important to remember, let’s all go into this next year with a positive mental attitude, and an excitement of what’sto come. Remember, charities will need your support more than ever in the coming year. 

Image

I want to wish you all very Happy New Year, with all my love,

Arlene x

3 comments on “Celebrating CBE

  1. Jane says:

    Well done Arlene a well deserved award for a lifetime acheivement, congrats xxxJanie

  2. Alistair says:

    Definitey well-deserved, your career has been amazing and is well worthy of a CBE. Congratulations!

  3. Letitia Burke says:

    So happy for you Arlene you are a real trooper!! Congratulations!! Strictly Come Dancing has never been the same without you and they know it !!

Leave a Reply

