The Family Make It To Oz

My life is moving too fast with all this running around, or should I say literally flying around and I just don’t know where my head is!  Sleep has most definitely been evading me as I’m stuck in two time zones and it’s really quite confusing… Still I can’t complain as I’ve been up to some fantastic things!
I just have to say I can’t believe Starlight Express in Bochum is celebrating it’s 25th anniversary in 2013, and I have been in some very exciting secret meetings about some changes we’re planning to make to the show, I know loads of you watched Rusty and Pearl from the UK tour on Alan Titchmarsh as I have had so many lovely tweets and messages about it, so thank you for that!  Incase you missed it, here it is again.
So my week began again in Toronto, except this time I brought reinforcements from home to help me out; Alana and Abi! As I get nearer the end of the Over the Rainbow TV show, and closer to the actual Wizard of Oz show, all the meetings and extra filming plus a constant stream of emails arriving about everything else going on at home, created such madness over there so help was most definitely needed.
The night we arrived, we headed out for dinner at 360, the restaurant at the top of the CN Tower.  With views of Toronto 1,151 ft below, it spins slowly giving you the most stunning views all around the city and beyond as you eat.
 
After dinner we made our way one floor down to the observation deck, where we all ventured out to look down the glass floor, Alana braver than us to stand on it!
 

The show went by once again, and we sadly waved goodbye to Cassandra, our ‘Geek Chic’ Dorothy, who has done a fantastic job the past few weeks. It was great to have my girls there watching the show, and I loved introducing them to all the team who’ve heard so much about them as all I do is waffle on about my family!

Tuesday was a really fun day, as we were filming at the Mirvish Theatre where the show is going to be. We took the remaining Dorothys there for the first time to sing Somewhere Over the Rainbow live on the stage, and see how they coped with it. It was an incredibly overwhelming experience for them, knowing that they were that one step closer to fulfilling their dream of playing Dorothy. I also got to have a great chat with David Mirvish, he of the Mirvish Theatre, who told me what he’s looking for in his leading lady, so between him, Lord Andrew and myself, boy have those girls got a lot to live up to!

As I was busy filming, I sent the girls off to to Holt Renfrew, Toronto’s answer to Harvey Nichols to find me a dress for the finale.  They came back with a few too many bags for my liking, and I’m not sure all of it was for me! However, after a delicious dinner that evening at Canteen with Yvie Burnett (our vocal coach you may know from the X Factor) Nigel Wright (our magical music supervisor) and my girls, I was ready for my bed and ready for the exciting two days to follow.  

 
Of course it can’t always be work work work, so I decided to hold the phones, and treat myself to day off and head out to Niagara on the Lake.  One of the most beautiful areas of Canada, and just an hour away from the falls, Niagara on the Lake is small town made up of one main street, complete with clock tower and quaint shops mainly selling the most delicious handmade chocolates, toffee, fudge and any other variety of candy you can imagine and of course I couldn’t resist sampling pretty much everything there was to offer…
The surrounding area is made up of houses that look like they came straight out of a picture book overlooking lake Niagara, that we took a horse and carriage ride around, all wrapped up in a big blanket. Of course I also visited the famous Shaw Theatre that I’ve heard so much about to see the current productions.
Dinner was just heavenly, at the Stone Road Grille, recommended to us by my fellow Over the Rainbow judge Thom Allison.  I have never tasted food like it, and Alana’s dessert of maple flavoured cotton candy was something else!
 
We stayed in a beautiful old fashioned hotel, where I had my first EVER pedicure – which I would also like to add is going to become a regular occurrence!  
Breakfast the next morning was giant blueberry pancakes with crispy maple bacon and maple syrup all round, you can tell I may be getting a little over the maple, but however it was too delicious for words and I was dreaming about it by the time we arrived at the falls a couple of hours later.
 
Although it’s the second time I’ve been, it was every bit as breathtaking and magical as the first, and I was thrilled to be able to take the girls there, who were every bit as enthralled as I was.
 
 
Of course it can’t be all play, so after a quick drive through lunch at Wendys (Yes Wendys!) I was back in the city and back at my computer, going double time on all the emails I missed the previous day, again thank goodness for my helpers!
 
Friday I sadly waved goodbye to Alana and Abi, tears in my eyes, despite the fact I was going to see them in three days, I am a soppy mother. Then it was back on skype to the office until it was time for more filming, giving my opinions on the final four.  
 
Once again the weekend flew past, and we yet again waved goodbye to another Dorothy, this time Colleen, who very sweetly thanked me for all my comments, good and bad, over the past few weeks and how the show has really helped her develop as a performer. 
 
I can’t believe I’m saying this, but next week is the final! Only one more week of crazy commuting, then the long haul trips start as we head into rehearsals for the show and I’m there more on than off until January! 
 
Tune in early next week to find out who is our Dorothy, and what I’ve been up to this past week in London…
 
Until then
Love A x

Leave a Reply

