It’s a Twister of a Time in Toronto

Hello again!

What a whirlwind these past three weeks have been…  Flying back and forth to Toronto, I feel like I may have left my brain somewhere in the middle!

I’m going to begin where I left off, which was my final day with Coco in Toronto where we walked down to Lake Ontario, which was stunningly beautiful.  By the time we got back to the room, however, we were freezing, so ordering delicious chicken noodles from room service was just heavenly. By complete coincidence one of my dearest and oldest friends Molly Molloy was in town, along with my old dance partner Tim Spain – who I haven’t seen for years! Dinner with them that night was a hilarious affair, Tim cooked up a feast and we sat eating and chatting long into the night, laughing at old pictures and reminiscing about times past.

The next morning I headed off to Niagara Falls and boy was it wet! Breathtaking, but wet!

Image

Once back in Toronto and slightly drier, I headed off to the theatre to watch my fellow Over the Rainbow judge, Thom Allison, who was starring in one of my favourite musicals, Ragtime. The production, Thom, and the whole cast were just stunning and I was moved beyond belief.

Sunday and Monday came around so quickly, and suddenly it was showtime again. We waved goodbye to Jennifer, and I waved goodbye once again to Canada to return home to my family, who I had missed dreadfully staying away all that week.

Back in London, and back to the madness in the office after a whole week away! It was a crazy day of catch up, and no sooner had I started the day disappeared and I was racing across town to the theatre for the opening night of Cabaret, starring the beautiful Michelle Ryan and the enigmatic Will Young. The production was fantastic, and it was a real treat to watch it with my partner, who so rarely ventures out to these events. The fact that he enjoyed it as much as he did speaks volumes…

Wednesday and Thursday was a mixture of meetings, all very exciting and all very different; including Starlight Express Germany, and long overdue gossip with PR and fashion guru Nick Ede. The most glamorous, of course, being dinner at Andrew Lloyd Webber’s home in Belgravia, which although a simple affair, was still divine.

Friday was fun, as I always love a visit to the Loose Women. The other guests on the show with me were the adorable Olly Murs, and the supremely talented Overtones, who to my surprise and sheer delight serenaded me in the corridoor with an incredible acapella rendition of Goodnight Sweetheart.

Image

I wore a dress from my new Marisota collection, which you can check out here. Also, if you missed it that afternoon, you can see me reading the bedtime story Jack and the Beanstalk on Nickelodeon Kids @NickJrUK here.

Saturday morning, and once again… yes back to Toronto! The weekend went past in a blur, we sadly waved goodbye to Jessie, and I had no sooner arrived andI was leaving again, just barely making my flight! A few things in London over the weekend incase you missed themwere my interview with Radio 3 all about my Private Passions, and the Starlight Express company performing on Alan Titchmarsh.

Wednesday was a truly showbiz day, with a fabulous lunch at the Ivy Club, bumping into people left right and centre. Like director Trevor Nunn, musical theatre star Hannah Waddingham, and now international superatar John Barrowman who came flying across to my table, who I discovered was the only other person as crazy as I am to commute to Canada! However, it was the evening’s event at the Hurlingham Club in Putney that really blew me away. I was going to be presenting an award at the prestigious London Lifestyle Awards, little did I know I was going to be receiving one too! Much to my surprise I was awarded the London Legend award by my dear friend Sinitta, and I honestly was completely overwhelmed. Image

I also couldn’t believe my family knew beforehand, and managed to keep the surprise! It was lovely to see so many old friends and faces there, including Mark Fuller, owner of Soho Sanctum and many other restaurant and clubs, whoI know from back in the crazy 80’s. I also met Made in Chelsea’s Oliver Proudlock and we talked eyesight, laser treatment and glasses!

Image

It was a fantastic event, and one I was thrilled to be a part of.

There were more theatrical affairs at the the end of the week, with Thursday being Michael Strassens’s production of Call Me Madam at the Union Theatre. It was a great deal of fun, with a brilliant cast lead by the astounding Lucy Williamson, who I haven’t seen since I worked with her on the original We Will Rock You, who took my breath away.

Friday was a less exciting affair, watching Cirque du Soleil and Michael Jackson’s Immortal at the 02.  All I can say is, the less said about this the better…

So as usual, it’s the weekend and yes, I’m off once again, only this time it’s with my girls! Check in next week to see what the three of us get up to in Toronto, and yes it most definitely will include shopping…! x

Leave a Reply

