Short and Sweet and Searching for Summer

So another couple of weeks have flown past, and what have I been up to? Well here it is. I have been Mrs Domestic, tidying, cleaning, sorting and giving. Yes, many clothes are now with friends and charities. As for work well here is some of it.

I did an article for the Times Body and Soul as part of my BUPA campaign I’m working on to highlight Alzheimer’s and Dementia, and I’d love to hear your thoughts if you’ve read it. Here’s another piece I did in the Express, it has some helpful points on how to cope with Dementia.

Image

I’ve been meeting up with my fabulous new friend Russell Grant on a regular basis, no, we’re not baking, but we’re certainly cooking up something and it’s going to be big!  

Part of the reason I realised the weeks have flown by is that I was mainly stuck to the sofa, glued to the fabulous Louis Smith and co for the breathtaking Olympic gymnastics.  I didn’t want to miss a second so there I was, glued to the TV, screaming and shouting at the stunning performances before me.  What surprised me  most was how much I got into so many other event i wouldn’t usually have looked twice at thanks to the incredible efforts of Team GB, drawing me in with their passion and determination to go for gold.  And gold it was!  As for the Olympic Ceremonies, the opening was an epic performance piece, with several very moving elements to it, and I thoroughly Loved it.  The closing however, all I will say is that it was a bit like marmite… However I adored the spectacular lighting created by my good friend Patrick Woodroffe, the calmest man I know when faced with huge challenges.  Speaking of ceremonies, I had lunch the other day with my dearest friend Julie Brooks who was visiting from Australia and we reminisced about the time we worked together on the Commonwealth Games in Manchester in 2002.  Now that was a ceremony, and a story for another time…

This week I have been raving about Aveda.  I was very kindly sent a beautiful bag of goodies, some heavenly smelling shampoos and face products, and I have been glowing from top to toe.  Click on the link to see their gorgeous things here… http://www.aveda.co.uk/

One thing I am most definitely not raving about, and am in fact fuming about, is the uselessness of Addison Lee. And more so, their failure to accept their uselessness!  They have epically let down me, both my daughters and a few friends, and let me tell you, we are not impressed.  Ok rant over *deep breath out*

On a happier note, I managed to fit in a couple of trips to see family in Cheshire and Leeds, and as soon I feel myself leaving london and heading for the north, I breathe a sigh of relief, and my manchester tones start to creep back in, that my daughters find most amusing on my return home.

One thing I would love you all to do is join me and @savechildrenuk in the #raceagainsthunger. Let’s make sure #london2012 leaves a legacy, so PLEASE SIGN THIS PETITION http://bit.ly/SGqUZ7

Big kiss and farewell for now.

Arlene

Image

Leave a Reply

