The Best of British

I’m back!

And what a week it’s been… I left you last week on the way to the Queens Jubilee Arts Party, and it was truly a night like I have never seen before. I wore a stunning electric blue Cavalli dress picked out for me by the wonderful James at Selfridges personal shopping, so thank you James I felt fabulous! I wore it with my hot pink Prada shoes and matching Aspinal bag, and of course Alana on hair and makeup completed the look with smokey eyes and nude lips.  

I attended the party at the very grand Burlington House on Picadilly with my dear and long time friend Michael Crawford, and I could feel his grip tighten on me as we approached the grandest red carpet either of us had ever seen and stood as thousands of flashbulbs went off around us.  As we reached the main event, a sea of artists, writers, musicians, directors, ballet dances, comedians and actors stood before us, and it felt like we had entered entertainment heaven.  I chatted with so many people including the magnificent Ed Watson  – one of my current favourite principal ballet dancers from The Royal Ballet, David Walliams, Dame Shirley Bassey, Joanna Lumley, Rob Brydon and Jo Brand. However the most exciting moments were when Paul McCartney and then Grayson Perry came up to chat to me!  The food was magnificent and there were famous chefs and their food in every room including my favourites Richard Corrigan and Yotam Ottolenghi.

Image

Michael and I arriving at the Burlington House.

By the end of the night I was all talked out, and rather overwhelmed if I’m honest that me, a little girl from Manchester, was now bowing to The Queen at a party to honour her Diamond Jubilee.  It was a real Cinderella moment, and more than anything I felt proud. 

The next morning I woke up as if the party was all a dream, and it was back to work, and back to Baku! It was nearly time for the main event, I had done all I could and it was now up to Englebert to lead us to victory. Ok well maybe we weren’t victorious, as I’m sure you saw, but he did us all proud and I for one was thrilled to be involved and can’t wait for it to come around next year in Sweden!  You can watch the performance here. Any thoughts on who you’d like to see represent our country? I think my detailed memories of the past few days have faded into the fact that I had not a peep of sleep! 

Image

The incredible Crystal Hall, where the show was held.

 

Image

‘The Hump’ and I arriving.

 

Image

Baku by day.

 

Image

The Russian Grannies.

 

Image

A Jedward sandwich.

 

In other news, I have waved Starlight Express off on it’s journey round the UK, and this week it’s rolling into Bradford.  Keep a look out for it skating into a town near you here.
I also had a fantastic meeting with the lovely Pamela Stephenson all about… well I’m sure you can guess, dance!

Today I am up and off to do some top secret and very exciting filming with some of your favourite celebrities getting involved with one of your favourite tv shows… and that’s all I can say for now…!
So I’m off to work, and I want to wish you all a wonderful bank holiday Jubilee weekend, and hope the weather stays as glorious for you all to relax in the garden with tea and cakes, let’s make it the best of British! 

Much Love

Arlene x

Leave a Reply

