Hello again!

So as I mentioned last week, I got on a a bit of a chocolate high due to all those Easter eggs and forgot to post my blog! Anyway, here’s what else I got up to over Easter

I managed to make it to the countryside where I had four amazing days of doing what I always do when I’m there – eating, drinking and being very merry!  The eating part as always is my favourite, and I was overwhelmed with the amazing meals we had with some of our friends. Fresh oysters, grilled lobster, roast chicken, the naughty roast potatoes, tons of fresh vegetables and delicious salads, and of course copious amounts of chocolate eggs.  The drinking isn’t alcohol for me, but these amazing juices and cordials I buy from the Ludlow food centre, my favourites are the elderflower and lime cordial, and the pink lemonade, just heavenly.  And we had several very merry meals and catch ups with all our lovely friends there, including Coco and her family who hosted a dinner party fit for a king – or me as the Queen of Dance!

I had a long week ahead once again of Starlight rehearsals, so I made to most of my weekend, and although was sad to drive home again, was excited to get back in the studio and on those skates!  Well, to be fair it isn’t me on the skates any more, although once upon a time back in 1984 I was whizzing around that set.  I’m so thrilled with how fantastically the show is starting to come together, and what an amazingly talented cast we have.  If you scroll up to the previous post you can read my assistant PA Tully’s blog on his experience at rehearsals, and I know Abi is writing something to post up later on too, we’ve all gone Starlight crazy!

The week came and went with me even managing to squeeze in the odd meeting here and there either super early before I set off, or late in the evening after I got home, so it has been a very tough few days.  Even Saturday, there I was demonstrating steps and shouting “5678” at people, so much so I think I was even saying it in my sleep.

Sunday was, as I always love, family day.  We all went for a roast lunch down in South End Green at a lovely pub just next to Hampstead Heath, and although I ate all my chicken and vegetables, I managed to leave the roasties alone after last weekend’s gorge on them.  I had to admit, a few mouthfuls of everyone else’s puddings may have gone amiss…  But I couldn’t possibly say where…

After lunch I made my way back home to start getting ready for that evenings Olivier Awards I was attending.  Alana as always did my hair and makeup, and I wore a beautiful vintage Jean Muir coral dress, with my favourite lilac Aspinal bag, nude Louboutins and some fantastic handmade jewellery I bought on my last trip to LA.

The evening was exciting, glamorous and I felt every inch ready to walk the red carpet. It was a pity it was only available to watch on red button, as some of the outfits and the stars there were just incredible.

One of the highlights of the evening was catching up with my very dear and long time friend Trevor Nunn, who is the most brilliant director I had the pleasure of working with back on the original Starlight!  Much to both my daughters jealousy I caught up with the extremely beautiful Douglas Booth, who caused such a stir in Great Expectations last christmas, and he was every inch the gentleman Pip was.  I also got to chat to Celia Imry and the hilarious Zoe Wannamaker, and also see Vincent and Flavia, who were there to represent our nomination for Midnight Tango, and even though sadly we didn’t win, it was still an amazing event to be part of. Sophi Evans who is our current Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz sang Over the Rainbow, and Elaine Paige sang Don’t Cry For Me Argentina better then I have ever heard it in my life before, it was truly spectacular.

As always, another early morning and long week ahead was awaiting me, so I did my usual half an hour at the party then it was ‘home James and don’t spare the horses’!

Which brings me to say have a wonderful week ahead everybody, and I’ll be back next week with more exciting gossip…

Till then

Arlene x

One comment on “

  1. Astra! says:

    Sounds like you had a fun Easter weekend and a very busy week too. Best wishes Sandra/ Astra! x

Leave a Reply

