Tully’s Travels to Starlight Express

Hello bloggers! 

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Tully and I work as Arlene’s Assistant PA.

As I write this, I am watching the cast of the international phenomenon that is Starlight Express in rehearsals for their UK Tour. Arlene reminded me this morning that the very first time I saw Starlight Express was on a school trip when I was 7. Now at 20 I have very little memory of what the show was like. 

Every person I have spoken to about the show coming back has been over the moon, and until now, I couldn’t understand or share in the excitement. 

The cast of this show are all previous Starlight cast members from all over the world, and you can really tell. They all know the parts like the back of their hands. For the first 3 hours of rehearsing, I sat in awe as the entire ensemble were able to continuously sing, dance, act and even perform huge stunts, all while wearing roller-skates! I can’t even stand up on wheels, let alone attempt to try and move. 

This is what makes Starlight Express unique. The cast have to be the best of the best. And to be the best of the best 8 times per week.

The music is brilliant. The musical directors have adapted the original music slightly to bring it up to date with current artists. Think Black Eyed Peas, Bruno Mars, Pixie Lott and Adele. But for all the ‘first round’ Starlight fans, the original tracks are there in all their glory.

Image

Arlene working with the 4 female carriages; Pearl, Dinah, Ashley and Buffy.

 

Image

Rusty, Pearl, Dinah, Ashley and Buffy in action.

 

Image

The Starlight Express rehearsal room during a well earned tea break.

 

The fact that I am able to sit here and write this when the rehearsals are still at such an early stage, really shows just how phenomenal this show is going to be. I can now officially say I am a Starlight Express fan.

Roll on May 10th.

Tickets and all the venue information can be found here: http://bit.ly/StarlightDates

Have a nice weekend everyone, and Arlene will be back with her weekly update on Monday!

Tully – Follow me on Twitter @tullybloom

Leave a Reply

