Hello all!Due t…

Hello all!

Due to the fact I clearly overdid the chocolate eggs over the weekend I completely forgot to post my blog!  So here it is, and I hope you’ll all catch up with the next one in a few days to hear all about what I got up to over Easter! xx

After last week being beyond crazy, it’s been a welcome few days of normal workload, mainly rehearsals for Starlight, which have all been going fantastically well – despite the hour and more drive there and back to the rehearsal studios all the way across London.  Saying that, it was certainly worth the drive on our first day to hear the legendary Richard Stilgoe give the company a talk and tell them all about when we created the original show way back in 1984! Hearing his stories brought back such wonderful memories, and gave me another shiver of excitement about creating Starlight all over again for 2012.

 Other than being immersed in the world of skates, highlights this week have mainly revolved around food and missed shopping opportunities! I had a delicious breakfast meeting at the Charlotte St Hotel, two fabulous lunches at Chez Bob in Belsize Park, one with my dear friend Frances Rufelle, the other with another friend from many years ago Cjay Ranger, both filled with gossip and secrets.  Another divine brunch was with my new found fabulous friend and current Wizard of Oz Russell Grant at my new favourite The Delaunay, who tweeted afterwards “Start your day the Arlene way” – think it’ll catch on?

 As far as missed shopping opportunities go I was sadly stuck in rehearsals and missed the Zatchel party.  I did so want one, and hope I’ll be able to pick one up soon in my favourite hot pink. 

 I managed to cram in a trip to the hairdressers – finding the time is getting be to be near on impossible at the moment!  That and a catch up with the lovely Rob Carey who worked on Flashdance with me took up my lunchbreaks on Friday and Saturday, and Saturday night I was in bed by 8 as I knew Sunday was going to be a long one…

 I was involved in the filming of ‘Best Possible Taste’, the Kenny Everett tribute documentary, as I was involved with the series all those many years ago.  It was great fun getting some new dancers to recreate Hot Gossip, who became know for their ‘naughty bits’ on the show, that so famously outraged Mary Whitehouse.  It was a long day, out at the Oceana nightclub in Kingston, which although has a fabulous light up floor, it sure was sticky! 

By the way, did anyone get any April fools tricks played on them?  I managed to avoid falling for any this year, you’ve got to get up early to catch me out!

 One very glamorous invitation I had was from Samantha Cameron to attend a charity event at Number 10 Downing St, where myself and several others were there to honour the amazing work Save the Children are doing here in the UK as well as overseas.  I met the exquisite Erin O’Connor, who’s beauty is just breathtaking, as well as having a lovely catch up with original Strictly winner Natasha Kaplinsky. It was a wonderful evening, and I felt very proud to be involved.

 I was beyond thrilled to receive a surprise visit from my darling Louanne Madorma on Wednesday, who popped over from Vegas for literally a 24 hour visit due to a family commitment, and managed to fit me in just to grab a big hug.  Also, having the Lorraine crew come in to Starlight rehearsals to film in preparation for my appearance on the show early Thursday morning was a welcome visit and the cast were skating around like maniacs showing off their tricks.

 I’d like to say a massive thank you to Dove for their amazing goody basket I received – my skin now smells and feels like a million dollars after using copious amounts of the bodywash and shea butter lotion!

 On that note, I’d like to say Happy Easter!  I hope you all find and scoff lots of eggs, and take the time to see and appreciate your families, well that’s what I’ll be doing anyway…  And to all those that are avoiding the eggs for whatever reason, have a lovely Pesach and enjoy your Matzos!  

 Much love as always

Arlene x 

 

 

 

 

 

After last week being beyond crazy, it’s been a welcome few days of normal workload, mainly rehearsals for Starlight, which have all been going fantastically well – despite the hour and more drive there and back to the rehearsal studios all the way across London.  Saying that, it was certainly worth the drive on our first day to hear the legendary Richard Stilgoe give the company a talk and tell them all about when we created the original show way back in 1984! Hearing his stories brought back such wonderful memories, and gave me another shiver of excitement about creating Starlight all over again for 2012.

 

Other than being immersed in the world of skates, highlights this week have mainly revolved around food and missed shopping opportunities! I had a delicious breakfast meeting at the Charlotte St Hotel, two fabulous lunches at Chez Bob in Belsize Park, one with my dear friend Frances Rufelle, the other with another friend from many years ago Cjay Ranger, both filled with gossip and secrets.  Another divine brunch was with my new found fabulous friend and current Wizard of Oz Russell Grant at my new favourite The Delaunay, who tweeted afterwards “Start your day the Arlene way” – think it’ll catch on?

 

As far as missed shopping opportunities go I was sadly stuck in rehearsals and missed the Zatchel party.  I did so want one, and hope I’ll be able to pick one up soon in my favourite hot pink. 

 

I managed to cram in a trip to the hairdressers – finding the time is getting be to be near on impossible at the moment!  That and a catch up with the lovely Rob Carey who worked on Flashdance with me took up my lunchbreaks on Friday and Saturday, and Saturday night I was in bed by 8 as I knew Sunday was going to be a long one…

 

I was involved in the filming of ‘Best Possible Taste’, the Kenny Everett tribute documentary, as I was involved with the series all those many years ago.  It was great fun getting some new dancers to recreate Hot Gossip, who became know for their ‘naughty bits’ on the show, that so famously outraged Mary Whitehouse.  It was a long day, out at the Oceana nightclub in Kingston, which although has a fabulous light up floor, it sure was sticky! 

By the way, did anyone get any April fools tricks played on them?  I managed to avoid falling for any this year, you’ve got to get up early to catch me out!

 

One very glamorous invitation I had was from Samantha Cameron to attend a charity event at Number 10 Downing St, where myself and several others were there to honour the amazing work Save the Children are doing here in the UK as well as overseas.  I met the exquisite Erin O’Connor, who’s beauty is just breathtaking, as well as having a lovely catch up with original Strictly winner Natasha Kaplinsky. It was a wonderful evening, and I felt very proud to be involved.

 

I was beyond thrilled to receive a surprise visit from my darling Louanne Madorma on Wednesday, who popped over from Vegas for literally a 24 hour visit due to a family commitment, and managed to fit me in just to grab a big hug.  Also, having the Lorraine crew come in to Starlight rehearsals to film in preparation for my appearance on the show early Thursday morning was a welcome visit and the cast were skating around like maniacs showing off their tricks.

 

 

I’d like to say a massive thank you to Dove for their amazing goody basket I received – my skin now smells and feels like a million dollars after using copious amounts of the bodywash and shea butter lotion!

 

On that note, I’d like to say Happy Easter!  I hope you all find and scoff lots of eggs, and take the time to see and appreciate your families, well that’s what I’ll be doing anyway…  And to all those that are avoiding the eggs for whatever reason, have a lovely Pesach and enjoy your Matzos!  

 

Much love as always

Arlene x ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

