Midnight Tango with a Rollerskating Wizard

Hello from Auditionland! Yes I’m still up to my eyes in casting the new Starlight Express UK Tour and the Wizard of Oz, although this week I can see the light at the end of the tunnel…! We’ve finally found our new Wizard, the one and only Russell Grant! I’m really looking forward to working with him and seeing what I can create to make the role individual, so around all my other engagements I’ve been dashing to, the majority of my time has been spent with my assistants coming up with hilarious new ideas for him.

Well, the majority of my time in the day, as every evening so far this past week has been spent in the theatre with my show Midnight Tango, getting it ready and polished for the upcoming opening night next week, but more to come about that in a moment…

Tuesday I was on the News Review section of This Morning, with of course Holly and Phil, and Carol Malone on the sofa with me talking about the disappearing Captain on the Costa Concordia, and I have to say I’m deeply saddened by the whole event. Just looking at the pictures coming through that morning, it almost doesn’t look real, and my thoughts go out to all those affected.

Wednesday was a grand affair, a fundraising lunch with Princess Anne for Sense, a charity for deaf blind children that I support.

Another exciting event was a meeting at Sony, where I met the supremely talented Andy Serkis, or as some of you may know him as Gollum from the Lord of the Rings. I have to say I was a little bit starstruck.

On saturday I finally started my filming of the Big Dance DVD for schools, the project I’ve been talking about involving 5 choreographers developing ways to get dance involved with children’s education. It was also lovely to have Giorgia there with me as my assistant, its like her body can speak the words of what I want to create, so working with her is always a joy.

Sunday was one of my typical family days involving lots of food, lots of company, lots more food, lots of guilt over all the food, and a lovely lazy afternoon on the sofa.

Monday was an insanely manic day, starting with a shoot for
Woman and Home magazine with Alana, who was being photographed with me. A few fab outfit changes later it was off to rehearsals with Russell the Wizard. After spending day in day out devising new choreography for him as I mentioned earlier, it was wonderful to finally put the steps to the face. You can buy tickets to see him http://bit.ly/WOZTickets. Then a quick production meeting, followed by a dash over to the Aldwych to watch the Midnight Tango preview, which I’m thrilled to say was a standing success, ending with another production meeting until I finally climbed into my bed ready for another hectic week ahead.

Tuesday I was made a visit to Body and Soul on behalf of Sport relief. Meeting David Tennant is aways exciting, but even more exciting was seeing the work Body and Soul does on behalf of young people with HIV AIDS and the incredible creativity of the people we met, watching their films, listening to their music and hearing them talk about their lives was truly inspiring. I’m really looking forward to teaching a class in their studio and working with some of these amazing kids.

Finally, Marisota are running a Twitter competition to win one of my dresses, and you can enter here! http://bit.ly/xpst7T

So until next week
Much love, Arlene x

One comment on “Midnight Tango with a Rollerskating Wizard

  1. Abi dancing snail says:

    That dance for the schools sounds good, how does it work, can I get my school involed

Leave a Reply

