Christmas crackers

So Christmas is over, its the first day of 2012, and what a holiday period its been! I spent my time in the country with my family, seeing friends, stuffing my face and trying to avoid the various disasters that unfortunately befell over the Christmas period.

As beautiful as our house is, secluded and peaceful, being without phone or internet for days at a time can be rather trying. As you all know I’m such a workaholic, and even though I was taking a break and not responding to emails, it still drove me round the bend when I couldn’t receive what I wasn’t going to respond to! Also, due to the house being a good forty minute drive from anywhere with shops and phone service means having a car is a necessity, so therefore I was mortified to hit a rock and bust my oil sump on boxing day! It was all kinds of drama having to get my partner to come and rescue me and the girls, and being over christmas was even more of a nightmare finding a garage to fix it. When I managed to finally get someone to come and pick up the car, it was nearly dropped off the pickup as the man had tried to load it at the wrong angle! A few wrong turns later it was dropped at the local garage to be fixed, sometime over the next few days…

The last drama in what was otherwise a truly perfect Christmas was that my partners mother was taken to hospital for an emergency operation, so we’re all wishing for her speedy recovery.

Doom and gloom aside, we did keep laughing about the fact it seemed to be one thing after another, and the weekend was just blissful. A 14ft tree, stunningly decorated in all kinds of purple baubles and miniature fairy lights by Abi, a dinner fit for a king cooked by my partner, and Alana and myself wrapping presents and hanging cards all around the house to make it festive. I received the most wonderful and thoughtful gifts, and felt truly blessed and grateful for everything.

We spend the eve of Christmas day having a wonderful turkey roast with all the trimmings at some friends of ours, and that included a big helping of Christmas pudding with brandy butter. Oh I forgot to mention I’d already had a turkey roast at home for lunch with my family earlier on – yes that’s right, two roasts in one day. I was broken by the time I got home, and on boxing day I rolled out of bed feeling like I was the Christmas pudding.

Dinner and drinks with various friends and relatives over the next few nights kept us ticking over until New Years Eve was finally upon us. We spent it at our dear friends the Crowleys, who we have know for over 20 years now, and spent many if not almost every new years with previously. I spoke to both my girls at midnight who had scampered back to London to party the night away, and of course got all emotional about how grown up they are now.

Finally, as I return to London and the week ahead I want to say Happy New Year to you all. May it be filled with love, happiness and success, and that all your hopes and wishes come true. Its back to work for me in the morning, and I’m sure for many of you too, so let’s make it a good one!

With all my love for an amazing 2012
Arlene x

Leave a Reply

