Wogan, Winners, Children and Dinners

Firstly I have to say a massive thank you to everyone who voted for me on the Broadway World website, I was thrilled to win Best Choreography for The Wizard of Oz, and I’m so proud of all the cast. I also have to say a huge well done to the other winners Danielle Hope, Michael Crawford, David Cullen for his orchestrations, and of course the award for Best Musical. See all the winners here

Thursday was Dec 1st, and I can’t believe a year has gone so quickly! It was a day of meetings, my favourite being not a work meeting but a lovely lunch with one of my dearest and oldest friends Chrissy, who was one of the very original Hot Gossips, at Richoux, where we sat and talked over memories of years ago. After lunch I attended the Good Housekeeping Carol Concert where I did a reading of ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas’, but with the words changed to reflect dance. It was lovely to see so many good friends and I was delighted to chat to Lulu and Fern Britton, who were also doing readings. I was beside myself with excitement as I was going to watch the dance god that is Rafael Bonachela’s new creations for the Sydney Dance Company at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, in a word it was breathtaking. A truly special 1st of December I’d say.

Friday I lost Alana to Mexico, who was going to make me look fabulous now?! Help was at hand in the shape of the fantastic celebrity makeup artist Debbie Gallagher, who made me look totally glam as I set off for Brighton with Coco to record BBC Lifeline – make sure you watch on BBC1 Sunday 18 December at 16:20, and then BBC2 Wednesday 21 December at 10:50. Its about the most amazing Charity, the Theodora Children’s Trust who help fund Giggle Doctors to visit sick children in hospital. Its so important for kids and their parents alike to help them through some of the most difficult times they will ever face, and just bringing a smile can help no end. http://theodora.org.uk/
I met some amazing kids and giggle doctor Polly, and we spent a wonderful day together laughing and gossiping, a truly moving experience.

Saturday was a well needed lazy day with Angus, lunch, papers and even a cheeky nap! In the evening I attended Betty Laine’s birthday gala. Betty was the founder of one of the top theatre schools in the country Laine Theatre Arts, who’s students I have worked with in just about every musical that I have been involved in. The event at Simpsons on the Strand and it was very theatrical affair and I spent a great deal of the evening chatting to ex-students Kerry Ellis and Ruthie Henshall!

Sunday was radio radio radio! I recorded Inheritance tracks for Radio 4, and went on Sir Terry Wogan’s Weekend programme live which you can listen to again here: . It’s always good getting a smile from the great man!

Monday I was up early to chat to
BBC Hereford and Worcester to promote my exciting event in Leominster where I’ll be opening a new bookshop and signing my Dance to the Musicals book. Its this coming Saturday 10th Dec at 11.30 at Border Books (9 School Lane, Leominster, Herefordshire, HR6 8AA) If you can’t make it there may be some signed copies here just in time for Xmas! Then I was on the charming Ray d’Arcy’s show in Ireland he certainly is a fascinating character. You can listen here We talked about stories old and new, from the film Annie to the wild days with Freddie Mercury to Strictly and beyond. That evening was the Christmas party for the charity Fight For Life an incredible children’s cancer charity that I was really proud to attend, and had an amazing time dancing away with the kids and patrons Nicky Clarke and Duncan from Blue. You can see all the pics on my Facebook Fanpage: and don’t forget to LIKE my page!

Well that’s all for another busy week, and I hope to see lots of you at my event on Saturday, so until next week…

Love Arlene x

Leave a Reply

