Its all Hollywood

HELLO FROM HOLLYWOOD!

As I sit and write this on my last day in LA I’m looking back at what has been a whirlwind of a week. I flew out with Debbie Moore for a week packed full of meetings, vintage shopping trips, theatre trips, sourcing and scouring for inspiration – so where to start??

Of course the first person I met up with the night I arrived was Nigel Lythgoe, my SYTYCD partner in crime. He took me for a wonderful dinner at Sur and a cocktail or two at Soho House, and then we spent the next day bouncing ideas around and taking in the sun at his beautiful house in Bel Air. Of course I couldn’t wait to hit the shops to see what all the LA fashion is about, I wanted to soak up ideas for my new Marisota collection, so off to Century City it was. Throughout the week I also managed to hit the Beverly Centre, The Grove, Rodeo Drive, all the vintage stores on Melrose, pretty much anywhere you could shop I went. I bought beautiful vintage jewelry to inspire my QVC collection from the most incredible market on Fairfax, and even managed to storm through Sephora a few times over looking at amazing new makeup with Alana.

I managed to meet up with some friends I’ve known since way back in the 70’s and 80’s, my oldest friend Lavinia who was in the original Hot Gossip, and my darling Richard Wenk, who worked on the film of Annie with me and has now gone on to become a huge Hollywood script writer. Getting to see both of them was a dream come true, as well as meeting with the wonderful Jeff Thacker also of So You Think You Can Dance, and my dear friend and top Hollywood agent Tony Selznick to see what plans we could come up with… but you’ll have to wait to hear more about that! A lovely dinner with famous Hollywood director Michael Apted, and a milkshake and catch up with the truly inspiring Deborah Seigel made it a real week to remember.

I went to see some fantastic theatre as well with my friend Louanne who drove over from Las Vegas, we saw Twyla Tharp’s Come Fly With Me, a truly stunning Cirque du Soleil production at the Kodak Theatre called Iris that literally took my breath away, and the opening night of the So You Think You Can Dance tour which was fabulous.

Of course I have to talk about food. The one thing I will say above and beyond all else was the size of the portions! Enormous! I ate at some of the most fantastic restaurants The Palm, The Ivy, Cecconis, also at places including Mel’s Diner and the Cheesecake Factory, and no matter where I was one portion could feed at least three. Needless to say it’s back to the chicory and grapes when I return as I have a whole host of television appearances coming up and I want to look my best!

Through the haze of jetlag, sunshine, meetings and more it has really been an incredible week that has literally flown past. As I write this sat waiting to board my flight the butterflies are going round my stomach, and I realise despite being in the Sunshine State I can’t wait to get back to rainy London and my wonderful family. As I wrote to my friend Richard in 1982 “It’s all Hollywood”

Till next week…
Love Arlene x

Leave a Reply

