Early doors

Hello all, this blog is coming live to you from Sunny LA! Of course you’ll have to wait till next week to read about my adventures here, but till then here’s what I got up to in London last week… My Monday morning began at the eye watering time of 4:30 am to get in to hair and makeup with Alana for my appearance on Sky Sunrise news with the lovely Eamon. As I blearily made my way to the car for the long drive to the studios the excitement began to kick in
(well that and the triple expresso!) and by the time I arrived I was ready to go! It all went very well I’m pleased to say, and by 8am I was finished and on my way home again! A few hours sleep later I was up and out the door again to hit the West End for Emma Forbes’ book launch at The Ivy which was fabulous, and then the Crazy For You press night at the Novello Theatre which was also absolutely fabulous. A long but fun day, and that was only that start of my week.

Tuesday I was up (although not quite as early!) to head to the This Morning studios to do the news review, this time with the brilliant Iain Lee. We had such a great time going over the stories of the day, one in particular that stood out was the man that had been mummified, did anyone watch the documentary on it? I don’t think I could I’m far too squeamish. After that it was back home for some phone interviews and a catch up with Coco, and the it was off to meet my old friend Iain Burton, creator of the divine brand Aspinal, for tea. A good few hours was spent talking about the good old days, and of course browsing through the new collection that I have to say is just stunning. The next and final stop of the day was at my friend Rod Aldridge’s party to celebrate 5 years of his foundation, and he invited a large number of the dance community to celebrate with him, so a fabulous time was had by all, dancers sure know how to party!

Wed was a morning in the office doing yet another Coco catch up session, before it was time to head to the BASCA Golden Badge Awards at the Savoy, to pick up the award I was being given for my contribution to the music industry for all the various videos I choreographed for artists including Queen, Whitney Houston, Elton John, Aretha Franklin, Duran Duran and Diana Ross, to name a few! Brian and Roger of Queen and the fantastic Ben Elton all congratulated me, I can’t believe it’s been 9 years since we stared on our We Will Rock You journey together, and of course many many years before that I was choreographing Queen videos with Freddie. I also want to thank my dear friend Jeremy Sams for the kind words he wrote about me, and thank you to my Abi who came with me, it was so lovely to have her there. The evening was a short stop in at the Fabulous Magazine awards, where I had a great catch up with Louie Spence, and one too many cocktails, hence the briefness! Not being a drinker I was 3 sips down and almost 3 sheets to the wind, so it was early doors for me!

Thursday was a day spent editing my new showreel and packing for LA, as it was early Friday morning I was heading off. The evening before leaving I was honored to host the Take a Break Family Heroes awards with Neil Fox, recognising people who have overcome serious adversity, putting their own troubles aside to help others lead a regular and happy life, despite the many problems of their own. It was a truly humbling evening, and one that shall stay with me for a very long time.

I will leave you with a couple of dates for your diary, tune in to QVC on the 4th of November as I’ll be on talking about my new book and selling signed copies, the other early Dec (the exact date I’ll keep you posted) talking about my jewelry, both would make the perfect christmas gift so don’t miss!

I meanwhile will check in next week when I’m back from my travels, with all the gossip stateside!

Till then

Love Arlene x

Leave a Reply

