OK, You’re Fired!

So where did I leave you last week… Oh yes, it was a Happy Birthday to the shows and promise to keep it interesting – and boy has it been an interesting week!

On Wednesday it was off to Salisbury festival where I met so many amazing children, as well as their Mums, Dad’s and even Grandparents!  I was asked so many different questions, the kids all wanted to know what was my favourite dance, the Dads all wanted to know about Hot Gossip (of course!) on the Kenny Everett Show and the Grandparents all told me how much they missed me on Strictly, which is always truly lovely to hear. I suppose when you look at it all it’s a pretty varied life I’ve had…

Thursday was quite a busy day, starting with a breakfast meeting at one of my favourite places the Covent Garden Hotel, although as usual I was being good so settled for fruit and green tea, and just eyed up everyone’s full English wafting past me!  I was excited to get to my next appointment as I couldn’t wait to catch up with an old friend who I knew would be there…  OKTV was my next destination to talk about the upcoming final of So You Think You Can Dance and as much as I was looking forward to meeting the divine Matt Johnson, it was my old friend Charley McEwen I couldn’t wait to have a gossip with.  I met him when he was the hair designer on Strictly, and I’m very proud to say he’s now in charge of all things hair at Channel 5, and was there making Kate and Matt look as gorgeous as they do.  From the minute I got there we were like naughty schoolchildren it was chat chat chat till the minute I left!   I’m pleased to say Matt was every bit as lovely in the flesh as he looks, and Kate was so sweet it was a really fun interview.

After that it was off to get my nails done – and I wish I was one of those women that loved the salon, but I’ve always seen it as something to get out of the way because I have to, not like Alana who could happily sit and get pampered all day.  I suppose I just don’t really have the time, I’m always thinking what else could I be doing!

Friday morning I was up to film for a really interesting documentary about British Musicals that will be on BBC4 over Christmas, talking about some of the West End Musicals I have choreographed, then it was over to Radio 2 for the first of my series on dance groups such as Pan’s People and of course the legendary Hot Gossip, if I do say so myself!  I’ll let you know when the series I am presenting begins. It will be great to take a look back over the years and at all those fabulous routines and even more strangely fabulous outfits!

So You Think You Can Dance was of course my Saturday, and it was such an exciting semi final.  Firstly I have to say how sad I was to loose the truly enigmatic Lee B, one of the dance world’s truly unique characters.  It was lovely to see how far he came, and that his self expression was so accepted.  I know he will go on to great things, and I wish him all the best of luck, and as well to Bethany Rose who I thought also did a fantastic job this season.  I have to say the funniest thing about Saturday was the amount of production creeping round the building in the hopes of catching a glimpse of the gorgeous Matthew Morrison aka Mr Schu from Glee who was performing on the show that evening.  Alana was falling over herself when she got a smile, and it was all I could do to stop her storming the stage!  Some wonderful dance pieces and of course another interesting outfit from Sisco led to another Saturday done and dusted… So let’s see what the final has to offer next week!   After the show that night I went with Louise, Sisco and some of our producers for a meal in Holland Park, and it was great to let our hair down and just have a laugh together about everything.  The wine and gossip was flowing, although after dinner it was home for me, but I’m sure the party carried on elsewhere with out me as it so often does – I’m just raring to get home to my bed these days!

Sunday was finally lazy lazy lazy, and that’s all I have to say about that!

Monday was a day both Alana and I had been really looking forwards to as it was a shoot for the Celebs on Sunday Magazine for the Sunday Mirror, but this time it was both of us being photographed.  We arrived and it was straight down to getting ready, as obviously Alana was doing my makeup as well as her own so it was a fight for the mirror.  The shoot went amazingly well, and I felt so proud of Alana as I know she isn’t the most camera confident person!  One thing I will mention – as I have said before my life revolves around food – the lunches at Spring Studios are out of this world!  Organic pea soup and goats cheese salad, yes please!

When we had finished shooting it was over to Hammersmith and the Riverside Studios to film The Apprentice You’re Fired. I won’t say anything about it other than make sure you watch tonight after the main show on BBC2 at 10!

Tuesday was a busy day of errands and catching up with with my amazing PA Coco, and that took me up to the evening where I attended the UK Music Summer Reception in St James Park, hosted by the supremely energetic Feargal Sharkey.  With great performances from Boy George and Newton Faulkner, it was a lovely evening, allbeit a little chilly so truthfully I was happy be home and back in my bed by half 9 once again!

I’m so excited for this weekend, make sure you watch the final of SYTYCD and look out for the amazing special guest star, I’m sure you will all be as excited as I am to see her perform…

Until next week

Arlene x

One comment on “OK, You’re Fired!

  1. Natasha says:

    Hi Arlene,
    I’m exhausted just reading about your week! What an inspiration…
    I have some ideas about the continuing professional development of the top 20 SYTYCD dancers that I would like to share with you…
    When I was the Executive Officer for the Australian Dance Council (Qld) one of our main objectives was to foster skills in dancers to help them manage their careers effectively. Skills such as how to market themselves, network, run a business (if they were independent artists), look after their health and technique and plan for career transition when the time came for them to stop dancing professionally etc.
    SYTYCD offers tremendous exposure, and a once in a lifetime opportunity, for your top 20 dancers, most of whom are in the early stages of their career. I am concerned that many of them lack the skills (and professional support) to springboard successfully from this oppportunity, once they leave the show.
    I’d appreciate the opportunity to discuss the matter with you offline. If you are interested would you please email me on the email address supplied with my comment submission? I’ll then forward you further details of ideas I have for addressing this matter. Best wishes for the final!

Leave a Reply

