So You Think You Can Eurovision

Hello all,

Firstly I would like to say thank you to all my new subscribers! I hope you enjoy reading this week’s entry and the many more to come…

Also, a big well done to the 5 competition winners who won my VIEatHome Dancing with Colour make up kit http://www.vieathome.com/shop/product.aspx?id=43206&q=1&level1Id=643&level2Id=1075 Make sure you follow my twitter for more competitions coming up soon.  So, as I said last week once I was back in London it was back to life as we know! Thursday was a trip to Woking to see my show Midnight Tango, I just wanted to head down to make sure all was running smoothly, and I have to say Vincent and Flavia still blow me away – even though I have seen them dance countless times it’s like I’m watching them for the first time and they always give me chills.Continuing my week of all things dance, on Friday I went to the ballet at Royal Opera House called Ballo della Regina, a triple bill.  I don’t think in all my years of watching performances here I have ever seen anything so breathtaking.  I took my eldest daughter Alana, and as we were heading back to our seats we saw a figure purposefully striding through the crowds, and although we didn’t see the face we both knew instantly it was Jeff Thacker, executive producer of So You Think You Can Dance, old friend and another who lives life through dance.  He had run straight from rehearsals to catch what he could of the ballet, and it was lovely to catch up out of work hours and just enjoy talking about what we love best.

This leads me on to Saturday and of course it was up early and off to the BBC for another day of So You Think…  It had been a tough week with 4 people leaving the competition, and the tension in the air was palpable.  As always it was a surprise who ended up having to dance for their lives, and I think the toughest choice was between the girls as all three of them were brilliant.  We chose Katie to stay in the end as she still has a lot more to give, and it will be exciting to see her come back this week with all the personality of a fireball, and her beautiful technique. I think she’ll be one to watch.  Luke was a clear standout to stay after he danced with more raw emotion than any boy in that position has done so far.  He made sure he wasn’t going anywhere, and again I’m looking forward to seeing what he brings to the show this week.  

It was straight home after the show for me as I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss Blue sing our entry for Eurovision, and of course they did us proud. The show overall was great fun to watch, and having been there with Jade Ewen a couple of years ago brought back great memories.  Some may say it’s all about tactical voting, who knows?  I’d just like to say congratulations to Blue, and wish them the very best of luck with their single now they’re back.

Catching up was my priority over the next couple of days, and after spending Sunday with my partner and two girls, I went up to Leeds to see the Atkinson Grimshaw exhibition at the Mercer Gallery in Harrogate. Of course popped into my favourite vintage shops there too. It was only a short visit as it was back to London and work the next morning.  I had a great meeting with a dear friend I’m lucky enough to work with, Karen Bruce, who just happens to be the director of Midnight Tango.

I promise my new secret book project will soon be revealed… Just a few more weeks now…

Finally, make sure you check out the new events page on my book website: 

http://www.alanadancingstar.com/file/Latest_News.html and come and see me in Salisbury at the International Arts Festival on the 1st of June (17.30-18.30) 

http://www.salisburyfestival.co.uk/event.aspx?id=533I hope you all have a great weekend, I know I will as it’s my birthday on Sunday and I can’t wait to see what my family have planned, so I’ll tell you all about it next week, as well as what promises to be a WILD Sunday night event!

Until then…

Love Ax

Leave a Reply

