Out of the woods…

HI all,

So finally the big night arrived and the Wizard of Oz opened! It was such a fantastic evening, a real glamorous West End opening night with celebs and critics a plenty! I loved catching up with the very fabulous John Partridge, who I have know since he was 16 and gave him his very first job! I saw all the Dorothys, Philip Schofield, Barbara Windsor, Duncan James and had a lovely chat with Tamsin Outhwaite, who I have also know since she was a teenager in my production of Grease many years back… ah how time flies!

Last Saturday Brian May, Anita Dobson and Matt Lucas all came to watch the show and when I asked Matt what character he would want to play he replied ” Probably the Scarecrow, but I can’t dance” which made me very proud of Paul Keating who has worked so hard to characterise the movement of the Scarecrow.

Work wise it’s been busy as usual, with book signings at Guildford and Bluewater for my Alana Dancing Star Series and I’d like to thank all of you who came along for your support. My next one will be at the MOVE IT exhibition on Sunday 13th of March 11:15 at the Kensington Olympia : http://www.moveitdance.co.uk/page.cfm/link=105 so look forward to seeing more of you there!

Last week I launched a competition to win a set of 4 of my books on twitter, well done everyone who got the right answer, and @Dilly4 for being the lucky one I drew out of the hat! It was such fun, I’ll be doing another one shortly! So watch out!

I filmed the TV Book Club last week with Jo Brand, Laila Rouass and Dave Spikey and hosted by Meera Syal, we were reviewing Even the Dogs by Jon McGregor, it’s a very heavy book – not a light holiday read – but beautifully and poetically and very thoughtfully written.

Friday night was great as I got to meet up with my old friend Kenny Ortega, we go way back from when he had his group ‘The Tubes’ and I had Hot Gossip, wow those were crazy days! He has had an amazing career and was the creative director of Michael Jackson’s “This Is It”

I’ve been living in the leather jacket from my Marisota collection, it’s so comfy and just goes with everything. I’ve also been trying much harder to do the two things my eldest daughter keeps nagging me about – taking my makeup off at night and using my skin products, which range from Boots to E45 to Creme de la Mer…

Today is International Women’s Day, so check in next week to see how I spent my day with an amazing bunch of Forward Ladies….

Until then…

Love Arlene x

2 comments on “Out of the woods…

  1. claire says:

    I Love your bloggs, how do you manage to be so busy AND beautifully positive!!

  2. Hi Arlene, I saw you in Sheffield yesterday and there are some articles up about it on our WordPress site.
    Your speech was wonderful, as was Penny’s, Lady Catherine’s and Katie.
    Thank you for coming to our city, talking to the ladies there afterwards everyone thoroughly enjoyed it and even the Mayor of Sheffield was regretful that he didn’t get to be there from the beginning.
    By the end of lunch over £1000 was raised for The Katie Piper Foundation and many more women now know about her and her amazing charity, thank you for helping with that too.
    I look forward to reading your blog about the day and hearing about how Manchester was.

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

